Communities in Schools

Communities in Schools(CIS) is a nationwide network of passionate professionals working in public schools to surround students with a community of support, empowering them to stay in school and achieve in life. They work within the public school system, determining student needs and establishing relationships with local businesses, social service agencies, health care providers, and parent and volunteer organizations to provide needed resources. Find out more about Communities in Schools.

Communities In Schools is a dropout prevention program. Through campus-based programs and special projects, Communities In Schools creates a network of volunteers, social services, businesses, and community resources that work together to break down barriers and help students succeed. And the formula works: last year, 99% of the students referred to Communities In Schools stayed in school.

Program Managers

Lamar Middle School
Lauren Sinkar
LSinkar@ciscentraltexas.org
Fulmore Middle School
Max Casero
mcasero@ciscentraltexas.org
Mendez Middle School
Tony Aguilar
taguilar@ciscentraltexas.org
Bedichek Middle School
Michelle Covington
mcovington@ciscentraltexas.org
Garcia Middle School
Cisco Garcia
cgarcia@ciscentraltexas.org
Barrington Elementary School
Caitlin Riojas
criojas@ciscentraltexas.org
Sims Elementary School
Emily Brooke
ebrooke@ciscentraltexas.org
Perez Elementary School
Amara Nitibhon
anitibhon@ciscentraltexas.org
Zavala Elementary School
Michael Romero
mromero@ciscentraltexas.org
Overton Elementary School
Emily Lesh
elesh@ciscentraltexas.org
Sims Elementary School
Emily Brooke
ebrooke@ciscentraltexas.org
Barbara Jordan Early College Prep School
Meghan Burgess
mburgess@ciscentraltexas.org

Contact Information for CIS Austin

  • CIS office phone: (512) 462-1771

  • CIS website: http://www.cisaustin.org

  • CIS fax: (512) 735-9997

  • CIS Address:  Communities In Schools of Central Texas
    3000 South IH-35, Suite 200
    Austin, TX 78704